Monday, November 16, 2015

Review: A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern

Read:  July 5th - 8th, 2015

Type:  Kindle

Source:  I received a copy of this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.  

Rating (out of five stars):

Where to find the author:  Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

View this book:  Goodreads | Amazon





From Goodreads:
Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view,A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson. 
Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing—until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all.
Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they're starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most? 

A Step Toward Falling is a YA novel about learning to be brave enough to speak up when you know something is wrong or you see someone in trouble, instead of taking the easy way out by ignoring it.

Emily witnesses an assault on Belinda, a student with special needs, at a football game.  She panics, and instead of yelling to try to stop the attack, she walks back to the bleachers.  Before walking away, she sees a football player walking by, and she assumes he will help.  Before returning to her friends, Emily does try to tell a teacher about what she just witnessed, but the teacher is unable to hear her over the roar of the crowd, and Emily doesn't make much of an attempt to be heard.  When she sees the football player rejoin his teammates on the field a few minutes later, she still assumes he got help for Belinda.  When she hears the sirens, she figures everything will be taken care of now that the police have arrived, without much harm done.  That knowledge, however, doesn't ease her guilty conscience.

She soon learns that Lucas, the football player she spotted approaching the scene, also failed to help Belinda.  As punishment for failing to at least attempt to help, Emily and Lucas must do community service by volunteering at a center for people with disabilities.  While volunteering there, they begin to learn things about themselves.

Belinda is a huge fan of Pride & Prejudice, and the author uses that as a clever way to get her point across.  A Step Toward Falling is all about first impressions, and how an initial judgement of a person may not always reveal the truth.

This is an extremely well-written book, with wonderful character development.  I enjoyed the author's last novel, Say What You Will, but I loved this one even more.  She takes delicate subjects and handles them so well.  Hours after finishing this book, I was still thinking about the characters.  This is a story of bravery, standing up for others, and learning to do the right thing.

I would highly recommend this, and I look forward to reading more from this author in the future.

No comments:

Post a Comment